Block Confirmation
By CoinGecko | Updated on Mar 03, 2020
When a new block of information has been verified for addition onto the blockchain, it has one confirmation. Each additional blocks added onto the blockchain gives the referenced block another additional confirmation.
The further back a block is on the blockchain, the more costly it becomes to reverse it (through malicious means). Block confirmation is typically used by crypto exchanges to consider a cryptocurrency transaction final to protect themselves against bad actors who aim to reverse transactions after depositing (known as double spending).
Related Terms
Masternodes
Computers that are responsible for processing blockchain transactions and receive a reward when a block is mined.
Internet of Things (IoT)
It is a system that lets any devices that are connected to internet to comunicate with each other without human-to-human or human-to-devices interactions.
Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT)
Describes the technology that enables distributed ledger.
Leverage
It is an investment strategy to gain potential return of the investment by borrowing the money
Interested to stay up-to-date with cryptocurrencies?
Get the latest news, trends, and promotional materials in crypto by subscribing to our free newsletter.